Inverness Orienteering Club, or INVOC as we are better known, is the local orienteering club for the Inverness area and much of the rest of highland Scotland. If you are new to orienteering, our New to orienteering? page offers a starting point  to find out a bit more about the sport, and our About INVOC page tells you a little bit about the club.


2015 was an exciting time for orienteering in the Highlands, with the World Championships and 6 Day Event in the summer, and 2016 is sure to serve up lots more great events, challenge and fun. If you are not yet a member join us now to get involved, and enjoy reduced entry rates to all our events plus loads of other benefits. Membership costs just £17 for adults, £4 for juniors.

North Clubs












Welcome to the INVOC website.


Recent website updates:

23 Oct: North Inter-Club Junior Challenge Cup @ Keppernach on Nov 6th

18 Oct: Vizionteering details

17 Oct: Keppernach event details, British Orienteering EGM info

Our next event:

Weds 2 Nov: Vizionteering. Urban street orienteering at night around Inverness City Centre. Starting at Run4It. Prizes sponsored by Run4It.    Details

Sun 6 Nov: Keppernach. Runnable pine woodland, not too much climb. Level C with white to brown courses, so suitable for everyone.

Offers of help to Rhona MacKenzie, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The North Inter Club Junior Challenge Cup is being held at Keppernach so we need as many of our white to light green juniors turning up as possible.

Details       Please pre-enter at oentries to help the event team.

The next few 'local' events 





Sat/Sun 29/30 Oct


Level C & B & Inter-areas

Moray Mix, Culbin, Forres

Weds 2 Nov


Level D Urban/Night

Vizionteering, Run4It & Inverness City Centre

Sun 6 Nov


Level C (Regional)


Sat 19 Nov


Level D (District)

Cooper Park, Elgin

Sun 20 Nov


TD5 Training

Venue to be confirmed

Sun 4 Dec


Level D (District)



See the Events page for all forthcoming INVOC fixtures and links to other clubs' and national fixture lists.

North Inter Club Junior Challenge Cup @ Keppernach November 6th

Hot on the heels of the inter-areas is the North Area Inter-Club Junior Challenge. This is a competition that is deliberately kept simple and is aimed at juniors who run Light Green and below. All juniors should run their normal course. White runners completing their course have been known to sway the final results, so everybody’s result really does help. Please pre-enter at to help the event team. Further information from Catherine Todd, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

North Clubs Junior Challenge Format 2016 (pdf)

North Area Inter-club Junior Challenge 2016 (pdf)

British Orienteering Membership and Levy fees increase – EGM Saturday 29th October

Reduced funding from SportEngland means there is a funding gap in British Orienteering. British Orienteering has re-visited its proposals for membership and levy fees and these are to be voted on at the EGM. These were much lower than those originally proposed at the AGM and were then withdrawn in face of substantial opposition. Given its different funding base – Sport Scotland funds Scottish Orienteering based on membership growth – Scottish Orienteering has amended its constitution to permit membership of INVOC (and other clubs) without having to be a member of British Orienteering, thereby potentially allowing us to avoid passing on the full membership fee increase, though it will bear additional costs in doing so. Notwithstanding that the board is opposed to British Orienteering’s proposal. Views are however split. To help you make a decision for your vote:

Read the British Orienteering Supporting Statement here:

Read the Scottish Orienteering board’s counter position here.

Read Ali McLeod’s support for British Orienteering position on his Facebook page.

Proxy votes need to be returned to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 5pm on Thursday Oct 27th.

Planner's Course - Wednesday 9th November, 7:00 - 9:45pm at Nairn Arts & Community Centre

Joan Noble is again putting on her popular planner's course. It's a really fun "learn by doing" course with minimal "Death by PowerPoint". There are 6 places available. The course is open to all - you don't need masses of experience, just enthusiasm and a willingness to learn. Any novice or 'rusty' planners who will be planning in 2017 would get a lot out of it.

The planners course is now full. If you would be interested in attending a re-run of the course please contact Veronica - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Anagach Results: Sunday 24th Sept 

Thanks to Kevin Holliday (organiser), Laurence Cload (planner), Alastair Kinghorn (SI) and Iain Shepherd (controller) for the Anagach event. Excellent area, courses and venue -and top cakes from Fortrose Academy kids fund raising for the World Schools Champs!

Preliminary results


Joomla Template by